Bursaries & Awards


IPSERA Conference and IFPSM Summer School Bursaries

The IPSERA executive committee has five bursaries available to attend the IPSERA Conference and one bursary to attend the IFPSM doctoral summer school each year. A number of criteria are considered to judge bursary applications on a need and merit basis, including:

  • Applicant without alternative funding to attend IPSERA
  • Applicant from a developing country
  • Applicant from a country under-represented at IPSERA
  • Applicant a PhD student early on in their studies
  • Applicant accepted for doctoral workshop
  • Applicant presenting paper at conference
  • Applicant has not received bursary before
  • Applicant’s paper is on an interesting and current research topic

For more detailed information on bursaries, and applications, contact Kai Foerstl (E-mail: bursaries@ipsera.com)

You can download the bursary application form here.

We are particularly grateful to Mario Raffa and to CIPS for each sponsoring one Conference Bursary each year. The other three conference bursaries are made available from IPSERA funds. The IFPSM summer school bursary is co-financed between IPSERA and IFPSM.

African Scholar Bursary

The African Scholar Bursary was established with the generous support of Prof. Hannie Badenhorst-Weiss (Conference Host: IPSERA 2014 in Pretoria, South Africa). It is dedicated exclusively to promote and facilitate African scholars’ (with their main affiliation on the African continent) attendance of future IPSERA conferences. To apply for this dedicated bursary please use the bursary application form and submit it via email to bursaries@ipsera.com 

Reduced IPSERA Conference Fee for PhD Students

Each year the local host of the IPSERA conference offers a reduced conference fee of €200 to 15 PhD students. In order to apply for a reduced fee of €200 to attend the 2016 IPSERA conference in Dortmund, please use the bursary application form and submit it via email to bursaries@ipsera.com.

Community Building Bursary

The community building bursary provides financial support to research and educational initiatives within the scope of IPSERA network (i.e. specific workshops or seminars) or short-term visiting scholar support (i.e. for development of a joint research proposal). The financial support is NOT limited to the above examples. For the year 2015, we have 3,000€ available for community building bursaries. The IPSERA executive committee jointly decides on the amount of funds awarded to each individual proposal once all submitted applications have been reviewed. Your proposals are formless, but should outline the (1) purpose of your initiative, (2) the expected benefits to IPSERA community, (3) the expected educational or scientific contribution as well as (4) a detailed financial plan. Moreover, the proposals should not exceed the two pages (A4, TNR12, single-spaced).


The IPSERA Doctoral Dissertation Award

This award was established in 2015 and emerged as a natural consequence of IPSERA’s dedication to the support of young academics. Based on the strong ties with the IFPSM doctoral summer school organizers and our own doctoral workshop established 2009 IPSERA now decided to commence distinguish its most successful early career scholars.

The IPSERA Doctoral Dissertation Award is given to the author of the best doctoral dissertation in the field of Purchasing and Supply Management (PSM). In order to be eligible for this award, a dissertation must address a phenomenon that is of importance to PSM field and have been completed with 12 months prior to the submission deadline. The award winner will be announced at the annual IPSERA conference receive a plaque and a €500 honorarium. Submission to: awards@ipsera.com

The application should include

  • proof that the dissertation was completed 12 months before deadline indicated above
  • max. 4 page summary (A4, TNR12, single-spaced) of your work indicating specifically the practical and scholarly contribution as well as any spin-off journal publications

The awarding committee for the IPSERA Doctoral Dissertation Award Committee consists of the following five members:

  • Alessandro Ancarani, University of Catania, Italy
  • Kai Foerstl, German Graduate School of Management and Law (GGS), Heilbronn, Germany
  • Dirk-Jan Kamann, University of Pannonia, Veszprém, Hungary
  • Davide Luzzini; Audencia Nantes, School of Management, France
  • Veli Matti Virolainen, Lappeenranta Business School, Finland

IPSERA Lifetime Achievement Award

The IPSERA community turned 25 years of age in 2016. The IPSERA executive committee is aware that by today a number of its members have made highly significant contributions to the academic discipline of purchasing and supply management (PSM). Therefore, the IPSERA Executive Committee would like initiate the IPSERA Lifetime Achievement Award (LAA) this year. This award honors individuals who have demonstrated thought leadership and made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of Purchasing and Supply Management as a scholarly discipline. The award recognizes contributions over the whole of a career, rather than or in addition to single contributions. Moreover, this award helps us as scholarly community define who we are because we distinguish outstanding members of our community who have demonstrated tremendous ability linking their empirical research with practitioner dialogue, consulting to firms and teaching excellence.

In order to ensure a consistent and unbiased process an awarding committee will be established each year in April/May upon initiation of the IPSERA executive board member in charge of bursaries and awards (currently Kai Foerstl). All IPSERA members are welcome to serve on the LAA committee. Once established the committee chair will reach out to all IPSERA members and ask for award nominations. The award nominations can be made from September to end of January in the consecutive year. The LAA committee has to evaluate all nominated candidates. Women and men of any age are eligible to be distinguished with this award bearing in mind that the IPSERA Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded on a merit basis.

The following non-exhaustive list of potential evaluation criteria should be considered. It is the awarding committee’s liberty to decide on additional criteria and the weights within the set of criteria. 

  • Impact of publications on the PSM community
  • Impact on early career scholars
  • Impact on students
  • Service to IPSERA and other affiliated Associations
  • Quality of scholarly output
  • Involvement in community building activities
  • etc.

In order to implement this rigorous selection process we rely on you (our members) services on the awarding committee. If you want to serve on the committee please get in touch with awards@ipsera.com

IPSERA Lifetime Achievement Awardees

2015: Attila Chikán - Corvinus University of Budapest, Hungary

2016: Michiel Leenders - Ivey Business School, Western University, Canada

2017: John Ramsay - Staffordshire University, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software